Kirby Ferguson: Embracing the remix

The creativity speech I watched is Embracing the remix by Kirby Ferguson. He talked about how musicians steal work from each other giving a specific example of Bob Dylan, and introduced Henry Ford’s idea by bringing up iPhone.

We all heard similar tunes in different songs so that didn’t surprise me. What I found funny about the video is how he compared the before and after of Steve Jobs. I remembered watching Steve Job’s interview and was very impressed when he quoted”good artists copy, great artists steal” and his frankness about Apple. I remember he got pissed off by Android. But putting these two things together and comparing them is just great, and it made a great point. I like the whole idea of loss aversion and when he was saying”We have a strong predisposition towards protecting what we feel is ours.We have no such aversion towards copying what other people have, because we do that nonstop“, this just occurred to be so true to me. I have to put Henry ford’s quote which is in the speech here at this point,”I invented nothing new. I simply assembled the discoveries of other men behind whom were centuries of work. Progress happens when all the factors that make for it are ready and then it is inevitable.” So open-minded, I am very impressed.

What I also like about his speech is the last part, when he was saying “our creativity comes from outside”and “we are not self-made”, I personally agree with that because I am into the idea of inspiration, which I think is very important in the creativity process.

“Admitting this to ourselves isn’t an embrace of mediocrity and derivativeness. It’s a liberation from our misconceptions, and it’s an incentive to not expect so much from ourselves and to simply begin.” Love it. Aside from it is a considerate way to understand our creativity limits, it is also an encouragement, telling us to let worries go and just start off and explore. 

Kirby Ferguson: Embracing the remix

Leave a Reply

